I’ve Been Tagged – A (Spider) Web Game

5 May

Oh, I have been tagged.  I thank Kate of help4yourfamily for the fun and I am so glad it came with instructions. The instructions are simple.

  • Answer the question the “tagger” listed for you in their post
  • Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer
  • Choose 11 people to tag and link to them in the post
  • Let each blogger know that you have tagged them

What I love about this (the Anthropologist in me is talking) is that the game works somewhat like this.  You bring together people with similar interests as well as adding to the mix with people whose interests have not yet been discovered by others.  It is like weaving together a beautiful cloth.  The Navajo express this as the Spider Grandmother speaking and weaving the world into existence through her web. I guess the nature of the web has changed, but the results are much the same.

For this post I will choose from Kate’s list of 11 great questions.

The winner is…# 10.What is your favorite blog post ever, and why (you can include your own)?

First I have to say that when my grand kids ask me which one of them is my favorite I tell them that they are all my favorites equally but for different reasons.  So in the same spirit, I am going to focus on several posts (woven together) that deal with very different aspects of a favorite subject that I have been contemplating lately.  Listening.

I have come to believe that listening is best practiced as an active endeavor.  It is not something that is done with just your ears.  It is not passive, it can become an act of creation.  Creative listening is best accomplished by engaging all your senses,  hearing, seeing, touching, smelling, feeling, even tasting.

The following list includes a few posts that focus on different ways to listen.  I encourage you to read them as they provide inspiring insight into the art of listening.  (Listed in no particular order.)   Here,  I will share a story about using taste to listen and how that lead to building trust.

I had the pleasure of spending time with a 5-year old who often displayed acting out behaviors. One night, she had a pretty bad cold and I wanted her to take some medicine.  The medicine was what her mother had provided.  When I presented the medicine the child refused it.  I remained calm and encouraged her to go ahead and take it.  She made a half effort and then refused to take it.  She told me it tasted bad.  Well, not too many medicines taste great so I that did not seem like the best reason not to take it to me.  It quickly was becoming a battle of wills and you know how that always ends.  Of course I had to point out that it was grape flavored , and that she liked grape flavor etc., etc., etc.

The turning point came when I decided to really listen to what the child was saying.  She said it did not taste good.  So I tasted it so I could say see, it does not taste that bad, it is grape, and exert my will on her.  Oh boy, I tasted it alright and I kept tasting it for hours.  It was the most horrible thing I had tasted in recent history!  I said you know, you are right.  This tastes awful.

The sunshine that came over her face at that moment said everything.  Because she was being heard she could now trust me.  Amazingly, from that moment on, that child began to listen to me too.

So here are the blogs that have recently inspired me to look at listening creatively (the post that inspired this is specifically named)  as well as some that I just enjoy reading.   (I am new to the blogosphere so if you have a blog to recommend please send me a link in the comments.)

1.  http://edrobinson.wordpress.com  -Leadership thought #346 Are you listening?

2.  http://ollinmorales.wordpress.com  –  The Toa

3.  http:// declutterorganizerpurpose.wordpress.com  -Raising a well-rounded kid how now

4.   http://helpyourfamily.com/   -4-Rules parents can live by

5.   http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/  – Low-hanging fruit is all gone the future is about teamwork humility innovation

6.   http://essaykaywrites.wordpress.com/    -Instilling self-esteem to children how much is too much

7.   http://christyspad.wordpress.com/ – The lessons I’ve learned from Grandma Pie and Buried Treasure is always fun to find

8.   http://semiswede.com/

9.   http://donnaonpalawan.wordpress.com/

10. http://somekindoflovelyride.com/

11. http://maggiesonebuttkitchen.wordpress.com/

Here is the list of 11 questions for those tagged.  Choose the one that moves you.

1.  What is the last thing that made you laugh out loud?

2.  What is your favorite quote (today) and what does it say to you?

3.  You once found a marvelous treasure.  What was it?

4.  What is your favorite question to ask?  What is your favorite question to answer?

5.  Why did you start blogging?

6.  If you could solve one mystery what would it be?

7.  Vanilla or chocolate?

8.  What scent transcends you to a happy time?

9.  What technology could you live without?

10.  What obstacle held the key to your greatest reward?

11.  What is your fondest memory of your Grandmother?

Happy Blogging!

Photo by Luc Viatour / http://www.Lucnix.be

11 Responses to “I’ve Been Tagged – A (Spider) Web Game”

  1. essaykaywrites May 6, 2012 at 4:05 AM #

    Thanks, Karen. It is a good thing your post came with instructions indeed, because I was wondering what this was about. I like the idea, I will give it some thought and see what I come up with! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. Donna Amis Davis May 6, 2012 at 5:32 AM #

    Thank you so much for including me in this spider game! Very interesting! Thanks for sharing the links to the bloggers you find inspiring. I’ll just answer one of your questions right here, as my blog doesn’t lend itself to talking about me, personally, so much. I love your question, ‘What is your favorite quote (today) and what does it say to you?’

    One quote I keep coming back to again and again recently is by Jon Acuff, ‘Don’t compare your beginning with someone else’s middle.’

    I’m a beginning blogger, and a beginning novelist. I am excited about both, and love learning. But I also realize I have so far to go, so much more to learn, so much more to do. Sometimes when I see an amazing blog, or read a novel that is really good, I get very discouraged and feel like I’ll never get there. Maybe I won’t. But maybe, just maybe, if I keep on trying, keep on learning, keep on growing, I just might end up with something to be proud of.

    • queenoffamilosity May 6, 2012 at 8:11 PM #

      Donna, I love the quote. I have never heard that before. It really is true that we tend to forget that sometimes it takes 10 years to be an overnight success. Thank you for sharing.

  3. help4yourfamily May 6, 2012 at 8:12 AM #

    Thank you so much for playing along :). This is wonderful. I am looking forward to looking up these other posts.

    • queenoffamilosity May 6, 2012 at 8:07 PM #

      If you check out the post by Ollin the title is, Can Doing Nothing Solve All Your Problems? Ollin is a young man wise beyond his years. I think you will enjoy it.

  4. essaykaywrites May 7, 2012 at 3:00 AM #

    You’re quite welcome, and thanks for the invitation to the game. Have a wonderful week.

  5. Ollin May 7, 2012 at 5:16 PM #

    Aww. Thanks for the mention! I am honored.

  6. queenoffamilosity May 6, 2012 at 8:01 PM #

    Thanks for the ping Kay.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’ve Been Tagged – A (Spider) Web Game « essaykaywrites - May 6, 2012

    […] an anthropologist, and queenoffamilosity, has drawn me into her web of tag. What actually convinced me to spread the joy around is her […]

Leave a Reply

