A Tale of Two Cookies – Peanut Butter That Is

29 Mar

Old-fashioned or Flour-free. Either way this is a love story.

So what do you do when you have 4 jars of peanut butter in the cupboard waiting to be eaten?  Because of my last blog post, Peanut Butter Throw Down, this is exactly what I am facing today.  The first thing that comes to my mind is to make peanut butter cookies.  I have a recipe that I got years ago, from a wonderful baker.

It really reminds me of simpler times.  So much so that I have never recopied it from its yellowed piece of paper with its instructions typed in that font that all manual typewriters sported in the 70’s.

It makes a sweet, crisp cookie that disappears quickly.  It does make a lot of cookies and they do freeze well but I never seem to be quick enough to sneak any into the freezer.

They are very easy to make, do not require any hard to find ingredients, and make a good old-fashioned kid and husband friendly cookie.

Recipe is for 50 cookies using a #30 dipper

1 ½ c. Shortening

1 ½ c. Peanut Butter

1 ½ c. White Sugar

1 ½ c. Brown Sugar

3 Eggs

3 c. Flour

1 ½ tsp. Baking Powder

1 ½ tsp. Baking Soda

¾ tsp. Salt

  1. Combine shortening, peanut butter, sugars, and eggs.  Mix thoroughly.
  2. Add dry ingredients.
  3. Use a #30 dipper and drop cookies 2″ apart on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  4. Flatten with a fork dipped lightly in flour. Make a criss-cross pattern.
  5. Bake at 375° for 10-12 minutes.
  6.  Cool for about 10 minutes on the parchment paper.  Do not move them prior to this because they will crumble if not allowed to set.  You should have a nice crunchy but light cookie to enjoy.

Definitely use parchment paper.

As promised this is a tale of two cookies.  Why?  That is because I recently started eating a gluten-free diet.  As you can imagine, that makes desserts more challenging, and cookies almost non-existent.  Imagine my delight when I found a couple of wheat free-cookie peanut butter cookie recipes as I searched for ways to use up my four jars of peanut butter.

I do not remember the exact moment that recipes became more of a suggestion and less of a blueprint, but because of this I had to read all the recipes, consider the hundreds of comments people had made about them, experiment, and here is the result.

I am going to include a few tips about techniques because when cooking gluten-free, getting good texture can be tricky.

They are also very easy to make, do not require any hard to find ingredients, and make a good old- fashioned kid and husband friendly cookie and your “gluten-free” friends and family will love you.

Recipe is for 25 cookies using a # 30 dipper

(Easily doubled to make the 50 cookies yield as in the first recipe but if you want to experiment start with the smaller batch.)

No flour, no butter, no shortening.

As always check all ingredients yourself for gluten if you have Celiac’s disease as traces of gluten are in many foods.

1 c. Peanut Butter

1/2 c. White Sugar

1/2 c. Brown Sugar

1 Large Egg (room temperature for a fluffier cookie)

Pinch of Salt (I prefer sea salt)

1/2 tsp. Vanilla (omit if you require completely gluten-free for those with Celiac’s)

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1. Combine all ingredients except the peanut butter.  Beat until well mixed.  Add peanut butter slowly.  Mixture becomes thicker as you continue to beat.

2. Chill the firm dough in the refrigerator for 30 minutes or longer.  (If you are cooking with kids you might want to skip this, as their interest might evaporate, but go ahead and place the dough in the refrigerator while waiting for the first sheet of cookies to bake.)

3. Use a #30 dipper and drop cookies 2″ apart on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

4.  Flatten with a fork.  If you use a rolling motion rather than pressing down with the fork you can flatten the cookies without the fork sticking.  This does take some practice and this dough tends to be crumbly so if you feel more comfortable you can dip the fork in powdered sugar.

5. Bake at 350° for 8-10 minutes.

6. Remove from oven, sprinkle lightly with sea salt if you like the contrast of salty and sweet.   Cool for about 10 minutes on the parchment paper.  Do not move them prior to this because they will crumble if not allowed to set.  You should have a nice crunchy but light cookie to enjoy.

Wait for it...cookies must cool or you will see how the cookie crumbles.

Two and a half cups of peanut butter down, three and a half cups to go.  Anyone have a favorite peanut butter recipe to share?

11 Responses to “A Tale of Two Cookies – Peanut Butter That Is”

  1. Craigslistdad April 5, 2012 at 10:35 AM #

    One word – YUM! Thanks for sharing these recipies! Love peanut butter cookies 🙂

    • queenoffamilosity April 19, 2012 at 8:36 PM #

      You are so welcome Craigslistdad. Peanut butter cookies are a favorite childhood memory. Great project to share with kids. They all seem to enjoy cracking the eggs, measuring, stirring and making the fork marks on the top. The wonderful smell brings back these memories for me. Eating the cookies is an extra bonus.

  2. essaykaywrites April 12, 2012 at 12:38 PM #

    This recipe seems delicious, but I am trying to lose weight! You cruel, cruel woman! 😉

    • queenoffamilosity April 14, 2012 at 7:34 PM #

      Yes, in that case it is cruel. I guess I will make it up with an oh so healthy recipe next time!

  3. Laura April 18, 2012 at 4:11 PM #

    These look like the peanut butter cookies my grandmother makes- shortening is her secret weapon. They are delicious… but dangerous! Yum!

    • queenoffamilosity April 18, 2012 at 4:29 PM #

      Laura, yes, wonderful but dangerous. I now have to eat the shortening-free, gluten free variety that followed. I bet your grandmother was an awesome cook!

  4. everyvariety June 14, 2012 at 1:03 PM #

    We love peanut butter in our family. I always have to have plenty on hand. The last recipe I had with peanut butter was Peanut Butter Easter Eggs…every one loved them. Your cookies look great – I think I’ll try your recipe some time.

    • queenoffamilosity June 14, 2012 at 8:38 PM #

      Please let me know how you like them! You have some amazing looking treats on your blog. I can’t wait to try your Chocolate Raspberry Sponge Roll. Perfect for my now gluten-free life.

      • everyvariety June 14, 2012 at 11:19 PM #

        I will…perhaps with my kids since the holidays are coming soon.

      • everyvariety August 16, 2012 at 3:34 AM #

        You know what? I actually tried your recipe a few weeks ago but felt ashamed because I messed them up. I added too much egg so they ended up being fluffy in the middle and crunchy on the edges. They still tasted great – my family enjoyed them, but I’m sure the original texture would have been better.

      • queenoffamilosity August 16, 2012 at 7:24 AM #

        I am sorry to hear that. This is a little bit fluffy in texture even with the eggs called for. Maybe for a denser cake you might even try reducing by one egg next time. Glad you enjoyed the flavor.

        Well this is what I get for responding to comments from my phone. I thought this comment was about the gluten-free cheesecake which does have a fluffy texture. I was puzzled about the crunchy outside and now I know why. Please forgive me. I have to say that I love peanut butter cookies, although I now have to stick with the gluten-free ones, and have recently added a new recipe to my collection that has fabulous texture. It is just on the sweet side for my taste, I had to take a taste, but easily adjusted to personal preference. I would be happy to share that in case you are in the mood to experiment.

Leave a Reply

